Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Services for Lent and Holy Week

The service schedule for the remainder of Lent and Holy Week is as follows:

Wednesdays
6:30 PM Pre-Sanctified Liturgy

Fridays
9:00 AM Pre-Sanctified Liturgy

Saturday, April 4 - Lazarus Saturday
9:00 AM Divine Liturgy
4;00 PM Holy Baptism and Chrismation of Catechumens
5:00 PM Vespers for Palm Sunday

Sunday, April 5 - Palm Sunday
10:00 AM Divine Liturgy
6:00 PM Bridegroom Matins


Holy Week
Monday, April 6
6:30 PM Bridegroom Matins

Tuesday, April 7
6:30 PM Bridegroom Matins

Wednesday, April 8
9:00 AM Pre-Sanctified Liturgy
6:00 PM Holy Unction (at St. Demetrios in Camarillo)

Thursday, April 9
9 AM Vesperal Liturgy of St. Basil
6:30 PM The Twelve Gospels

Friday, April 10
9:00 AM Royal Hours
3:00 PM Vespers of Holy Friday
6:30 PM The Praises

Saturday, April 11
9:00 AM Vesperal Liturgy of St. Basil with the 15 Old Testament Prophecies

9:00 PM Reading of the Acts of the Holy Apostles
11:30 PM Midnight Office and Procession
PASCHA - The Resurrection of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ

Saturday, March 21, 2015

Funeral services for Protopresbyter Thomas Hopko



The funeral services for Protopresbyter Thomas Hopko will take place this weekend at the Orthodox Monastery of the Transfiguration in Ellwood, PA. The schedule of services is available at www.orthodoxmonasteryellwoodcity.org/frhopko. The services can be viewed online on the monastery's website by going to www.orthodoxmonasteryellwoodcity.org/chapel and clicking the Ustream link to watch them live, or recorded on the monastery's YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/user/EllwoodCityChapel/feed.

Memory eternal!

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Nina Kent: Memory Eternal!

Nina Kent fell asleep in the Lord last night following a brief illness. More information will be posted as it is available.

 UPDATE: Services for Nina will be as follows:
  • Monday, March 2, 7:00 PM: Panakhida at St. Herman's
  • Tuesday, March 3, 10:00 AM: Funeral at St. Herman's
  • Burial will be at Conejo Mountain cemetery in Camarillo immediately following the funeral
For further information, please contact Father Paul.

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Liturgy for Mid-Pentecost

There will be a Divine Liturgy for Mid-Pentecost on Wednesday, May 14 at 9:00 AM.

For further information, please contact Father Paul.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Schedule for Holy Week and Pascha

The schedule of services for Holy Week and Pascha is as follows:

Sunday, April 13
  • 6:30 PM: Bridegroom Matins
Monday, April 14
  • 6:30 PM: Bridegroom Matins
Tuesday, April 15:
  • 6:30 PM: Bridegroom Matins
Wednesday, April 16:
  • 9:00 AM: Presanctified Liturgy
  • 6:00 PM: Holy Unction (at St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church in Camarillo)
Thursday, April 17:
  • 9:00 AM: Vesperal Liturgy of St. Basil
  • 6:30 PM: The Twelve Gospels
Friday, April 18:
  • 9:00 AM: The Royal Hours
  • 3:00 PM: Vespers of Holy Friday
  • 6:30 PM: Praises/Lamentations
Saturday, April 19:
  • 9:00 AM: Vesperal Liturgy of St. Basil with the 15 Old Testament Prophecies
  • 9:00 PM: Reading of the Acts of the Holy Apostles
  • 11:30 PM: Midnight Office and Procession for Holy Pascha
Sunday, April 20:
  • 12:30 PM: Paschal Vespers
    • After the Paschal Vespers, everyone is invited to Chris and Mary Waian's house for the Agape Feast.
For further information, please contact Father Paul.

Sunday, March 16, 2014

This year's Lenten charity

It has been decided by the parish council to dedicate our Lenten charity efforts to church door charities in March,and to Project Mexico in April. In addition to cash donations, it is requested that you bring easily opened canned goods (i.e., those which do not require a can opener) or other shelf-stable (i.e., non-refrigerated and non-perishable) items for donation.

For further information, please contact Father Paul.

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Services for the first week of Lent

Great Lent begins on Monday, March 3. Here is the schedule for this week's Lenten services:
  • Monday: The Canon of St. Andrew of Crete (6:30 PM)
  • Tuesday: The Canon of St. Andrew of Crete (6:30 PM)
  • Wednesday: Presanctified Liturgy (6:30 PM)
  • Thursday: The Canon of St. Andrew of Crete
  • Friday:
    • Presanctified Liturgy (9:00 AM)
    • Salutations (6:30 PM at St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church, Camarillo)
Also, the Sunday of Orthodoxy services will be held on Sunday, March 9, at St. Athanasius Antiochian Orthodox Church, 300 Sumida Gardens Lane, Goleta CA. For map and directions, click here.